Monday, May 14, 2012

Last chance to register and win!

Last Day to sign up for The Kindle Book Review's biggest contest EVER.   Deadline - May 15th!





We want to find the best independent and small press Kindle books published between April 1, 2011 and April 1, 2012. If you think your book has what it takes, submit today! We are giving away up to $2,100 worth of prizes including cash, ebooks, advertising packages, and a Kindle Fire!  


What's at stake? The six winners will receive $100 cash each and an advertising package with The Kindle Book Review. The categories are:   


Mystery/Thriller - Romance - Suspense/Horror - Literary Fiction - Sci-fi/Fantasy - YA 

Readers can win too! We will give away a Kindle Fire to one lucky winner, loaded with some of the very best indie books out there. This is the "Reader's Grand Prize Package". Readers can register to win a FREE Kindle Fire and free books. We are also giving away kindle books every week at random to readers who register! All other prizes will be awarded on October 1, 2012. 

Saturday, May 12, 2012

Best Indie Books of 2012

Last Day to sign up for The Kindle Book Review's biggest contest EVER.   Deadline - May 15th!





We want to find the best independent and small press Kindle books published between April 1, 2011 and April 1, 2012. If you think your book has what it takes, submit today! We are giving away up to $2,100 worth of prizes including cash, ebooks, advertising packages, and a Kindle Fire!  


What's at stake? The six winners will receive $100 cash each and an advertising package with The Kindle Book Review. The categories are:   


Mystery/Thriller - Romance - Suspense/Horror - Literary Fiction - Sci-fi/Fantasy - YA 

Readers can win too! We will give away a Kindle Fire to one lucky winner, loaded with some of the very best indie books out there. This is the "Reader's Grand Prize Package". Readers can register to win a FREE Kindle Fire and free books. We are also giving away kindle books every week at random to readers who register! All other prizes will be awarded on October 1, 2012. 

Thursday, April 12, 2012

E-Book prices slashed

Amazon slashing prices in wake of DoJ filing but the battle is just getting started - the latest here: http://motleychronicles.com/2012/04/12/e-book-prices-begin-fall/

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

The gadget wars – good for readers

Cover of "Kindle Wireless Reading Device,... One of the main concerns with this e-book business was that it would take away from the traditional big-press publishers’ bottom line and maybe it does but from educators to casual readers, people are pretty excited that so much more material is available thanks to small press and independent publishers who are leveraging technology to tell their stories.  With that we also find our choice of platforms is now just as varied as book chains were 10 years ago.

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Readers, authors win - DBT shares Indie marketing tip

Our friends over ad Digital Book Today run a great site that gives indie authors a fantastic platform to showcase their work.  Readers also get a hand with reviews, but particularly with all of the free book promotions.

Now lots of people probably wonder why an author would spend so much time writing and editing and then simply give their work away.  Well, as the DBT's post today explains, there is a method to the madness where the reader and the author win. Hit the icon below to check out the post and make sure to browse the homepage when you're done.


Season of change

I've been kicking this blogging thing around for a while, researching and comparing and have come to the conclusion that it's nearly time for a change.  When I looked at the pros and cons between Blogger and WordPress I found the latter holds much more functionality, tailored to what I would like to do going forward.  The former has made it very difficult for people to follow unless they are tied into Google and that bothers me on principle alone.

To that end I've started to build my next landing spot for all things books called The Motley Chronicles.  Ideally  we'll add some guest posts as we go but the focus will be very much literary.  I hope you'll swing by, give it a browse and let me know what you think:  http://motleychronicles.com

We'll keep Top Shelf going for a while as this transition continues but I do expect we'll finish things up in the next month.  Thanks for always taking the time to read the blog and I sincerely hope to see you at The Motley Chronicles.

Monday, April 2, 2012

CONTEST: Best Indie Books of 2012



Time for The Kindle Book Review's biggest contest EVER. 



We want to find the best independent and small press Kindle books published between April 1, 2011 and April 1, 2012. If you think your book has what it takes, submit today! We are giving away up to $2,100 worth of prizes including cash, ebooks, advertising packages, and a Kindle Fire!  


What's at stake? The six winners will receive $100 cash each and an advertising package with The Kindle Book Review. The categories are:   


Mystery/Thriller - Romance - Suspense/Horror - Literary Fiction - Sci-fi/Fantasy - YA 

Readers can win too! We will give away a Kindle Fire to one lucky winner, loaded with some of the very best indie books out there. This is the "Reader's Grand Prize Package". Readers can register to win a FREE Kindle Fire and free books. We are also giving away kindle books every week at random to readers who register! All other prizes will be awarded on October 1, 2012. 

Sunday, April 1, 2012

To review or not review


I’m still a rookie book reviewer in so many ways but one of the lessons I’ve learned is to be selective because you owe it to yourself and the author. 

Friday, March 30, 2012

Engaging plot paves way for more

StarlightStarlight by Peter Alan Orchard
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Peter Alan Orchard has all of the elements to launch an incredible full-length historical fiction in his short story, Starlight. Therein is the challenge for the reader because after a few pages Orchard has connected you to his main character, Ulf to a degree that you want to see him stand up and remake his life after Viking raiders leave him crippled and without a wife.

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Dynamic characters drive crafty suspense

Who Stole Me? by Jon P. Bloch
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Who Stole Me will either leave you speechless or blurting expletives by the end because just when you think you've got it all figured out, author Jon Bloch throws you another curve-ball.

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Plenty of charm in Alana Siegel's debut

The CharmThe Charm by Alana Siegel
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


The Charm is Alana Siegel’s debut novel and kicks off what could be an excellent YA, Fantasy series - Olivia Hart and the Gifted Program. Her first-person narrative introduces us to a complementary host of characters and an interesting set of myth-borne fantasy components that she can greatly expand in her subsequent books.

Saturday, March 24, 2012

A cunning and crafty fantasy debut

The Last Mask - Tradition
The Last Mask - Tradition by Stephen Winterflood

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Stephen Winterflood’s, The Last Mask is a dark adventure with traditional fantasy elements presented in a very unique style. Fantasy readers looking for a break from the norm will love the structure and artistic approach to the writing. Traditionalists will likely feel less thrilled because the plot builds in an unusual way that might seem a bit complicated as it guides you, through his characters, to a convergent path.

Monday, March 5, 2012

Facing Down Fourth and Forever

Fourth and ForeverFourth and Forever by Bert Carson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


I’m convinced Bert Carson wrote Fourth and Forever for every veteran who’s served in combat; a place where each and every day you have to be in the moment. Living that way day in and day out comes with a terrible price that most often manifests as PTSD; a term we still don’t completely understand and, in many circles, do not accept.

Sunday, March 4, 2012

Aliens versus bureaucrats - humanity in the balance

Sue's VisionSue's Vision by Andrew D. Carlson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Sue’s Vision is Andrew Carlson’s second novel in a debut series that continues the story of a group of alien clones sent to Earth with an important message for its inhabitants. With Homeland Security handler Ted, and a small team of scientists in New York, we learn that this special group has brought more than just a message for mankind.

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

A Cloak and Dagger Grand Prix

The Ninth OrphanThe Ninth Orphan by James Morcan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


James and Lance Morcan’s, The Ninth Orphan, is a suspense-laden spy novel that keeps you engaged through every twist and turn in this fantastic maze of desperation and intrigue. Readers will love its brisk pace from start to finish, with cloak and dagger action and new dangers at every turn. Conspiracy fans will appreciate the Morcan’s efforts in developing the back-story and crafting the detail, making this a believable and gripping story of a rouge agent who simply wants a taste of freedom.

Monday, February 13, 2012

Classic Brooks for the fans

Bearers of the Black Staff (Legends of Shannara, #1)Bearers of the Black Staff by Terry Brooks
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I've been following the Shanarra branch of the franchise since nearly the beginning and loved how his last trilogy (Armageddon's Children) tied in Shanarra with the Knight of the Word.  This is a great follow up.

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

America’s enemies unite, plot path to Armageddon

2012 Armageddon: Unholy Alliance2012 Armageddon: Unholy Alliance by Preisler Harrington
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

All the terrorist plots in history pale in comparison to what unfolds in Preisler Harrington’s Armageddon 2012: Unholy Alliance. While there were friction points for me, his novella was highly entertaining from an action – suspense perspective with very strong messages on family bonds and sacrifice.

Thursday, January 12, 2012

A raw adventure from the darkest depths of comedy

Malice in BlunderlandMalice in Blunderland by Jonny Gibbings
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Real and raw, this story isn't for the thin-skinned or prudish sort. Malice in Blunderland is laden with adult situations and language that may offend some, but if you like your humor gritty then you will appreciate Jonny Gibbings fictional first-hand account of a life gone horribly wrong and getting worse over the span of a few days.

Tuesday, January 10, 2012

A galactic dustup in Gabriel’s Revenge

Gabriel's Revenge (Evan Gabriel Trilogy)Gabriel's Revenge by Steve Umstead
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Evan Gabriel Trilogy is complete with Steve Umstead’s action-packed final installment, Gabriel’s Revenge. The transition is seamless as the third book picks up only moments after Evan Gabriel realizes he must return to Mars and finish his business with the South American Republic (SAR) once and for all.